Governing Boards Organizational Chart

In February 2017, the Governing Boards of North County Fire & Medical District (formerly Fire District of Sun City West and Wittmann Fire District) and South County Fire & Medical District (formerly the Sun Lakes and Tonopah Fire Districts) approved the adoption of an Intergovernmental Agreement forming the first Fire & Medical Authority in Maricopa County, Arizona. The Arizona Fire & Medical Authority (AFMA) was established pursuant to Arizona Revised Statutes governing a Joint Powers Authority (JPA). In 2023, Buckeye Valley Fire District became a third partner agency under the Authority. Under this model, the districts retain local control over their budgets and services provided while maintaining separate tax rates. However, the personnel, equipment, facilities and daily operations of the combined districts are governed by a JPA or Authority Governing Board. The Authority Governing Board is comprised of seven governing board members who are appointed from each partner agency in the JPA with the goal of providing equitable representation. Two board members are appointed by each partner agency with a seventh board member appointed by the AFMA Governing Board.

The Buckeye Valley Fire District, the North County Fire & Medical District, and the South County Fire & Medical District are governed by a five member non-partisan board elected at large by the registered voters of each District. Board members are elected to alternating four-year terms so there are at least two members elected every two years. The Boards establish policy, set tax rates, and approve the annual operating budget. As special Districts of the State, the Districts must comply with all applicable Arizona Revised Statutes such as the Open Meeting Laws. The Districts hold regular public meetings the 4th Tuesday of every two months (Feb/Apr/June/Aug/Oct/Dec).  AFMA's regular board meetings are held the 4th Tuesday of every month.


Dial 9-1-1

For All Emergencies
Official website for the Arizona Fire & Medical Authority, the Buckeye Valley Fire District, the North County Fire & Medical District, and the South County Fire & Medical District.
Phone: (623) 544-5400 | Email:
18818 N. Spanish Garden Drive, Sun City West, Arizona 85375